So Cal Alpe d’Huez? Post Worthy Part Deux?

On August 3rd, I will be climbing the famed Alpe d’Huez via my trip with Trek Travel.  That is barring serious injury, fatigue or getting lost in a French winery somewhere along the way in the previous seven days.  It will be the last climb of my tour through the mountains of France.  Today, I was back up on what some people refer to as the So Cal Alpe d’Huez.  Both have 21ish switchbacks and the mountains are similar in elevation.  (Here is a quick article on the comparison) However, the true Alpe d’Huez is much steeper.

For readers of this blog, you know I have been here before.  I will, in fact, be here every week from here on out.  It is the hardest climb in San Diego County and I plan on getting all of it every week until my departure.  Today, my primary goal was to once again offer my friends at Trek Travel a post worthy shot of an epic/unique riding adventure with my new Trek Travel jersey.  They asked for it, so I am giving it to them.  Mr. Content here willing to please the social media gods.

I had to hit this one early.  It is going to be over 90 today in the valley beneath the mountain so I want to get started and make the two main ascents from the East Grade and the South Grade before 11AM.  That means pedaling at 7AM when it was a perfect 61 degrees at Lake Henshaw and head up the East Grade on a perfectly sunny morning.

20160623_070732

As usual at this time of the morning, Lake Henshaw and the surrounding valley was breathtaking.

IMG_20160609_075458763_HDR

At the summit of the first climb was my first photo op.  Mountains, ocean far in the distance and closer in on the right hand side of the shot are some switchbacks for the South Grade road which was the next descent/ascent ahead of me.  A postcard panorama fittingly for cyclists who want to be inspired to push harder and longer to be rewarded with exceptional views like this and a little bit of the road ahead/behind.

20160623_091407

On my ascent of the South Grade, I knew my next photo op destination had to be the Palomar Observatory.  Again, for readers of this blog, you have seen this one before (See previous story by clicking here to learn about the history of Palomar Observatory). However, the uniqueness of the double dome shot definitely has the postworthiness.  Especially for old guys like me who need to know they can do it.  You just can’t get this kind of shot too many places in the world at such a historic site that has had so much impact on science.

20160623_115251

On the way down, I noticed a valley I had never seen before.  I thought I would share this sight as it is rare to be able to see high mountain valleys like this.  Plus, it is another example of what an epic adventure it really is up here.

20160623_113237

Finished with all three climbs, I made my way back to the descent down the East Grade for one last photo op.  Similar to the first, I was going for a classic panorama with switchbacks in the background.  This time, from a slightly different angle.

20160623_123119

However, as I searched for just the right angle, I saw something additionally postworthy.  Not for Trek Travel, but just in general.  Here, high atop Palomar Mountain, I could plainly see the large wildfire near the Mexican border.  This was a great example of how Mother Nature can truly impact our environment.  The fire was likely over 100 miles away from where I was.

20160623_123900

Totals for the end of the day include 1 large wildfire plume, 3 potentially postworthy photos, 49 miles, 7,446 feet of climbing and one spectacular day on the Alpe d’Huez of So Cal.  I can only hope that the ride on the real Alpe d’Huez with Trek Travel on August 3rd goes as well sans a major wildfire.

 

49 6.23

Leave a comment